The Jum Nunnally Dissertation Award

The Jum Nunnally Dissertation Award recognizes a recent outstanding doctoral dissertation in the Department of Psychology. The recipient receives a certificate and a \$500 award.

Jum Nunnally came to Vanderbilt in 1960. In 1961, he became the second chair of the department. He served as chair from 1961-1964 and again from 1967-1970. Under Jum's leadership, the department grew substantially in stature, including significant increases in both the number and quality of the faculty. A memorial fund to support student awards was established in 1982 by his friends and family. Proceeds from this fund were used to establish the Jum Nunnally Dissertation Award in 2010.

The Nomination Procedure

dissertation in the

previous 18 months. Nominations must come from the student's primary advisor and be cosigned by at least one member of the nominee's doctoral committee. Nominations must include (1) a nomination letter from the faculty members, (2) the nominee's current vita, and (3) the title and abstract of the doctoral dissertation. The letter of nomination of no more than three pages should (a) briefly summarize the aims and findings from the doctoral dissertation, (b) place the quality, magnitude, and importance of the dissertation in the context of those from other outstanding recent graduates of the graduate program, and (c) note the relative contributions of the nominee to the work presented in the dissertation.

Nominations and supported material should be submitted to Erin Duran (erin.duran@vanderbilt.edu), Program Coordinator in the Department of Psychology. Applications will be reviewed by a committee of three faculty from the Department.

Please submit all nomination materials electronically so that we do not need to make multiple paper copies to distribute to the committee. Thank you.

Timeline

This year's deadline for nominations is April 14, 2022. Award will be announced at Commencement Party.

Number of Awards

We anticipate making one award each year. However, there could be years when we make no awards.

Past Winners:

Lénie Torregrossa (2022)

Megan Ichinose (2021)

Michele Cox (2019)

Sonia Poltoratski (2018)

Rob Reinhart (2017)

Braden Purcell (2014)

Mary Baldwin and Katy Thakkar (2012)

Michael Mack (2011)

Peiyan Wong and Jennifer Richler (2010)